Are chain tubes necessary on the Rover?

Hi all. First post on this forum. Recently bought a used TT Rover SA-8. Not sure of its age (I'm thinking 1-2 yrs) but it seems to be in very good condition, showing not much sign of use. I have been perusing these and other forums and the Terratrike youtube channel to learn more, as I'm new to triking and haven't been on a bike in many years (I have balance disorder and vertigo, so a 2-wheeler is out of the question). I do not have much money to work with so needless to say, when I happened upon this used trike deal, I was very happy.

My question:
This Rover came with no chain tubes on it. Looks like the previous owner removed them or never installed them. Are the chain tubes really necessary? Some of the info online that I found suggested that they only add resistance and noise. With conflicting info out there, I'm not sure which is accurate. Would appreciate the advice of experts here.  Thanks in advance!
Terratrike Rover
St. George, UT

Comments

• The chain tubes also keep the chain from hitting the frame and seat frame. They are used more to protect the trike over anything else, and second your pant leg from getting caught in the chain. Take a look to see how close it is near the rear wheel or the front chainring; If they are very close to those, then it could cause more rub and a louder noise than necessary. 
    Lydia R.
    Customer Service Manager
    TerraTrike - Part of the Solution
  • edited June 2017
    nssbdsz8j4w2.jpg
    I seem to have purchased a Rambler without the chain tube installed. how can I get one along with the bracket to hold it in place?
  • You can buy ones with flared tips. 44"
    Someone will chime in with the site momentarily as I do not remember.
  • Two options. Call Terratrike, see top of page's Contact button.
    Other is TerraCycle's chain tubes with the option to have the flared at https://t-cycle.com/-p-243.html

¬ ITL
  • edited July 2017