How does a newbie decide on a trike style?

AvaAva
edited March 2010 in General Discussions
Hi all,

I am new to the world of recumbent bicycling, though I knew ten years ago (the first time I tried one) that I wanted to get one. Having recently moved from a big city into a more bikeable area, I think the time is finally arriving!

But I have no idea what type to get. I am pretty settled on a trike rather than a bike, and am leaning toward USS rather than OSS. But I don't know for certain, and there are no recumbents stocked in my local bike stores (Eugene, Oregon)

How do I decide between OSS and USS, and between short and long wheel base, and between tadpole and delta design?

Comments

• i am no expert on all the differt styles of bikes but i can give you some pointers and things to think about. 1st is price range. i am not aware of any bike on the market that can't be upgraded at some point. 2nd is the type of riding will you be doing like long distance or speed or off road etc. 3rd is transportation. there are many options in this catagory. 4th is research. you can never do enough research. for me, i have a zoomer elite with the 26in wheel upgrade, and i absolutely love it! i'm getting my 8yr old a zoomer this spring and am real close to talking my better half into getting a zoomer as well. by the way, she never liked riding at all until i got mine! good luck and choose what's best for you.
  • Hi Bumblebee,

Thanks for your thoughts. I am looking to spend between $1,500 and $2,500, ideally that would include the extra costs of shipping and a few accessories like mud guards etc.

I find a regular bike very uncomfortable to sit on and also gives me back pain, so I don't ride much normally, but I expect to mostly use it on established bike paths and sometimes on bike lanes in low traffic areas. Speed is not a big consideration, but there are a few hills in my area so it will need decent gearing. Thus the Path 3 is out.