Comfort

I am seriously considering selling my golf cart and buying a trike but am concerned about smoothness of ride and the reclining position. I have several bad vertebrae in my neck and too stiff of a ride as well as leaning back very far might aggravate my neck issue. Does anyone have any comments or suggestions? I really would like to get the exercise and I live in a warm climate that offers year round enjoyment

Comments

• I have had neck problems for about 20 years due to much upright bike riding and a car accident. I have been riding a Rover since 2010 and no more neck issues at all. Most Terratrikes have adjustable setting where you can adjust the seat back to your liking for neck comfort.
  • I had a cervical laminectomy of my C3,4,5,6,7 and two fusions. I rider a recumbent trike with no pain/discomfort. You'll have to ride a number of different makes and models to find your comfort level. There are makes with suspension and larger low inflation tires. Most have adjustable seat back angles. You can also have a head/neck rest.
    Ed
  • I use a Roho wheelchair air cushion
    under me in addition to the pads TT
    offers for their seats. Did 20 miles yesterday. 7-8 mph so I was slower than shorter trips. Felt good at the end.
  • The Rover is definitely a trike model you should try. It is an excellent, if not best, first trike. It is comparatively inexpensive, built like a tank, time tested, and constantly being improved. The seat on the Rover is quite adjustable. It does flex a bit when mashing on the pedals, but with practice, you learn to keep the flexing to a minimum. This flexing could be advantageous to your issues by making the ride less stiff.

Currently, TerraTrike does not offer a trike with true suspension. Suspension, like most things, has both positive and negative elements. In theory, all other things being equal, the less suspension you have, the more your energy efforts are transfered to the wheels.