Add a cassette to Nexus IGH

Pretty apparent I don't know what I'm talking about but is it possible to add a 2 or 3 cog cassette to a Rover with Nexus 8?
I'm still studying appropriate chain wheel for BBSHD equipped Rover tandem. Performance varies depending on whether my stoker/wife is pedaling or cruising (which is allowed ) or whether she is on board at all. Gear changes at the back end of the chain could help. I've done no math on this :-)

Comments

• edited March 10
    yes, as far as cassete addition goes if in diy mode. this would involve converting the driveline to a mechanical mid-drive configuration: crank-turner up front feeding a mid-mount derailler and gear cluster which in turn feeds the rear igh.

if just interested in changing out the nexus sprocket for lower gearing, cheap and easy enough to do or have done. sheldon brown gear-inch calculator takes care of the math for both gear-inches and mph expectations.

depends on the nature of your desires. dropping the 32-tooth chainring in favor of a 30-toother suggests you are more concerned with low-end than high-end performance? if so, more practical to install a larger sprocket on the nexus ($8) then go the chainring route. this will lower your max speed.

if you desire lower gearing while maintaining current top speed, might be easiest using the nexus-11 although it does not seem to have the same bulletproof regard as the nexus-8. this would increase your presumed current gear range of 18-57 gear inches to 18-75 g.i.

to get honest hill climbing with the nexus-11, a 20-tooth nexus sprocket would give you a range of 15-60 g.i.
  • Thanks for the explantion. I too am learning. I have a Rover i8 that soon will be a tandem, and was thinking about adding more gearing for more speed.
    I have a lot a learn
  • still in the learning mode, meself. pretty much a tryit kinda thing with or without electric assist.