Past 3,000 Miles on the Rover It's a Winner

edited May 2011 in Rover
Here is an update on my experience with the Rover 8 Speed after passing 3,000 miles last week. I started riding my Rover August 5, 2010.

1. Everything on my Rover 8 is stock except the rear tire, which I replaced with a tire with a bit more tread and supposed to be more flat proof. As of now, I have not experienced a flat on my Trike in over 3,000 miles. The original tires still have some more mileage on them, and the two front tires are the CST tires the Rover came with.

2. I have the 8-speed Sturmey Archer hub and have had zero problems with it and very smooth shifting. The hub was redesigned a couple of years ago, and the new generation hub rarely has problems according to what I have found. There is a loop ride I do in the park next to my home several days a week, and I climb a 10 percent grade in 1st gear, at about 5 miles an hour. I am 71 years old, and I know if I was a bit younger, I could probably go up a steeper grade. The low gear is 24 " which is similar to many mountain and road bikes. I can hit 25 mph, and still not "spin out" the 79 inch high gear. Faster than that, and I coast anyway. Since Terratrike is using the same 8 speed hub to power their Rover Tandem, that would seem to indicate that this is one tough hub. That, BTW, is the same hub Terratrike uses in the 8-speed Path and the new 8 Speed Rambler.