Flag question

I haven't purchased any flags yet, and I'm wondering - how far down the tube on the side of the seat are they supposed to go? I vaguely remember the dealer telling me they only go down about 4-5 inches. Is that right? Seems like they would come out fairly easily with a bit of wind and get lost.

Comments

• You are right that they only go down about 5 inches. But, I have been using two of their teardrop flags for a few years and never had one come out. While you ride, the top of the flag pole is pushed backwards while the bottom is pushed forward against the inside of the tube. Because of that friction, they don't slide out.
  • edited May 27
    I use two driveway markers, heavier fiberglass rods, in the seat. Have attached a USA & USAF motorcycle flags to either side, and as small TT Snake flag on one side. I can strap in a mandolin (or ukulele) to the rods, and even sporting a SunTactics solar Panel between the rods with a 10 foot charging cord to the iPhone for long rides & Pokemon hunting.

ezq9grsdrqsm.jpg

The use a Soundwinds Reflective Sail #653rf stinger, vertically from the back wheel/rack. Out here I need a flag that goes vertically so the trucks will see me, as compared to fishing-pole styled fashion flags. And I utilize a zip tie fashioned in a loop, attached to the rack, to keep the flag from bending too far one direction or the other in high winds.

I ride in the evenings & night on the hot days too, so am high on reflectivitiy & lighting without the added weight.

8qi47cduqwir.jpg

¬ ITL
  • Very helpful pics and information. Thanks, guys! Also nice to know there's a way to mount my mountain dulcimer on back... :smile:
  • Last year, before acquiring the TT headrest, was taking a ukulele with me to church on Saturdays. :) Have subsequently moved on to a Seagull S8 mandolin for the travel & portability factor.

27nsoblxvw9r.jpg